Civic Trust Awards results announced

5 April 2023
  • First Light Pavilion Visitor's Centre by Hassell
  • 10 Lewis Cubitt Square by Allford Hall Monaghan Morris, Pic: Timothy Soar
  • Andermatt Concert Hall by Studio Seilern
  • Bath Abbey Footprint Project by FCBStudios, Pic: James Newton
  • Compton & Edrich Stands by WilkinsonEyre, Pic: Jed Leicester & Marylebone Cricket Club
  • Sir William Henry Bragg Building by ADP, Pic: Paul Karalius
  • Olderfleet by Grimshaw, Pic: Nicole England
  • Roman Baths Clore Learning Centre by FCBStudios, Pic: James Newton
  • The Burrell Collection by John McAslan + Partners
  • Unity Place by FCBStudion, Pic: Paul RIddle
  • Woolwich Line Elizabeth Station by Weston Williamson + Partners, Pic: Morley von Sternberg

Tenderstream members celebrate significant wins

Tenderstream members are celebrating an impressive eleven wins at the Civic Trust Awards (CTA), with projects ranging from a heritage and visitors’ centre at Jodrell Bank to the only new station on the Elizabeth Line. The awards reached its 64th Anniversary in 2023, with the ceremony held on 31st March at the London School of Economics and Political Science, London. In attendance were 300 architects, council leaders and built environment professionals from all over the world, gathering together to celebrate exceptional work in architecture, urban design, planning, public realm and public art.

Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios (FCBStudios) was recognised for two projects involving significant heritage sites in Bath. The Roman Baths Clore Learning Centre provides much-needed learning facilities for the Roman Baths in combination with a free-to-access World Heritage Centre. In the same city, the Bath Abbey footprint project ensures that the abbey - the city’s centre for Christian faith for more than 1,300 years – remains intact for future generations. FCBStudios were also highly commended for Unity Place in Brent, London, which provides 235 social rented homes, a community hub, high quality landscape amenity, publicly accessible playspace, and an energy centre serving the wider estate. 

WilkinsonEyre was awarded for The Compton & Edrich Stands, Lord’s Cricket Ground, London, with a concept that delivers two new distinctive architectural structures at the world-renowned sporting venue. Also in London, Allford Hall Monaghan Morris were highly commended for 10 Lewis Cubitt Square, a mixed-use building and a key piece of the King’s Cross masterplan, supplementing an area of the developing neighbourhood.

First Light Pavilion Visitor’s Centre is located in the Cheshire countryside at Jodrell Bank, one of the world’s oldest existing radio astronomy observatories. The new pavilion was designed by Hassell to celebrate both the site’s heritage, taking the form of a grass-covered dome integrated into the surrounding landscape. The judges stated that the CTA award-winning design “manages to complement the mighty and instantly recognisable landmark of the Lovell Telescope and offer a scientific experience accessible to all.”

John McAslan and Partners – and Arup as façade engineer – won the Michael Middleton Special Award for the Burrell Collection renovation in Glasgow, which sensitively transformed one of Europe’s finest museums. The award is a tribute to CTA founder Michael Middleton CBE, given to an outstanding restoration project or new build within a conservation area. 

Arup was also part of the team receiving the Special Award for Transportation and Architecture, with the firm acting as structural and services engineer on the Woolwich Elizabeth Line Station, London. The only new station on the Elizabeth Line was recognised by the judges as “a modern infrastructure marvel of London which enables and connects new communities in the capital.” Another project involving Arup as services engineer – the Sir William Henry Bragg Building – was highly commended by the CTA. The new facility at the University of Leeds provides a gateway to physical science, giving access to industry and outreach for school children and the wider University community. 

Further afield than the UK, the award-winning Olderfleet development in Melbourne, Australia – designed by Grimshaw – presented a unique opportunity to create a contemporary commercial development integrated with three of the city’s most significant heritage buildings, collectively known as the Olderfleet Buildings. Over in Switzerland, the new Andermatt Concert Hall, designed by Studio Seilern, won a Special Award for Reuse and Adapation. Pascal Wensink, design director at EPR Architects and CTA awards panel judge, stated: “The Andermatt Concert Hall in Switzerland has successfully transformed a pre-existing underground concrete box, initially intended to host conferences, into an extraordinary multipurpose arts venue.”

Looking ahead, the application round for 2024 CTA awards will open on 5th June 2023, and will close at 5pm on 21st July 2023. To be elible for consideration, submitted schemes must have been completed between 1st January 2020 and 1st September 2023. 

Lucy Nordberg
Tenderstream Head of Research

Start your free trial here or email our team directly at

Explore the Tenderstream archive here

Subscribe Now